Powder Magazine


113 Gold Reef Mall, STAWELL VIC 3380 - Property No B1393

File Number




Statement of Significance

Powder magazines were originally built by the Public Works Department to supply safe places for storing explosives and other related equipment used in gold mining. Two earlier powder magazines erected in Stawell were closed as being deemed too close to residential areas as the town boundaries extended.

The Powder magazine erected in Main Street (now Gold Reef Mall ) seems to have been erected in 1870 for Thomas Brown, an Ironmonger and timber merchant. Privately owned and run powder magazines were licensed by the Mines department. The magazine was no longer in use by the end of 1917.

Classified: 14/06/1962


Mining and Mineral Processing


Powder Magazine