|Back to search results »||Back to search page »|
42 James Street, PORT FAIRY, MOYNE SHIRE
A group of three houses under one hipped roof, now converted to a single dwelling. It is believed that the original date of construction was 1847. 2010 Note: House in good condition.
This building is understood to have originally been three separate buildings, constructed c.1847 and converted to a single residence at some date between 1869 and 1872, when it had become the Methodist Parsonage. The building was originally a boys' boarding school, one of the first in Victoria, conducted by Dr Braim of Cambridge, who was induced by Messrs Atkinson & Rutledge to leave Sydney College to become Headmaster of the school in Belfast. Dr Braim gave up the school in 1854 and bacame the first Vicar of the Church of England.
Dr Braim's House is a two-storied structure with corrugated iron hipped roof. The building is characterised by its varied doors and windows and by its proportions and detailing which typify the early buildings erected in Victoria at this time.
Part of Port Fairy Historic Area, Classified: 02/03/1981
A group of three houses under one hipped roof, now converted to a single dwelling. It is believed that the original date of construction was 1847.
2010 Note: House in good condition.
School - Private