Former St Helens

Other Name

Stella Maris Convent

Location

Bay Street NORTH GEELONG, GREATER GEELONG CITY

File Number

B1729

Level

Local

Statement of Significance

The two sroey Italianate mansion formerly known as 'St Helens' and now the Stella Maris Convent may have been erected as early as 1849 for G F Read Jnr, only son of G F Read , merchant and banker of Hobart. This two storey ashlar Barabool stone house with encircling verandah is a transitional Italianate design, symmetrially arrananged.

It is one of the earliest mansion houses in Geelong and now substantially defaced. G F Read Jnr was an important pioneer squatter in Western Victioria who married Helen Patterson, daughter of the Hobart Crown Solicitor, and after whom the property was probably named.

The building was acquired by the Sisters of Mercy in 1923 and used as a convent and teaching institution. Rear wings were added in 1911 and 1949. the original verandah has been removed and inappropriately replaced.
From AHC Citation

Classified 08/02/1968
Revised: 03/08/1998

Group

Religion

Category

Convent/Nunnery