Former Gaol

Location

Lydiard Street South, BALLARAT CENTRAL, BALLARAT CITY

File Number

B1971

Level

Local

Statement of Significance

The former Gaol, Lydiard Street South, Ballarat, was constructed to designs by the Public Works Department of Victoria; the first cell blocks in 1857, gaolers and warders quarters , towers and walls all in 1860. The cell blocks have been demolished. The entrance front comprises the two storey quarters blocks about a central entrance, with side walls and entrances and a corner lookout tower. Consturction is in brick with basalt dressings.
The former Gaol, is a building of considerable historical importance and forms an essential part of the streetscape and historic townscape of Ballarat. Architecturally the building is a representative example of nineteenth century prison design by the Public Works Department of Victoria and is essentially Classic Revival stylistically, with 'medieval' detailing to the corner tower.
The gaol forms an interesting comparison with other Victorian gaols.
The former Gaol is substantially intact although one building has been painted white. The building forms part of the Ballarat School of Mines.
Classified: 01/07/1965

Group

Law Enforcement

Category

Gaol/Lock-up