Simple Search » Back to search results »   Pdf_icon  Print


FORMER PROTESTANT ORPHAN ASYLUM AND COMMON SCHOOL

Location

150-220 MCCURDY ROAD FYANSFORD, Greater Geelong City

Google Maps and Google Streetview

Victorian Heritage Register (VHR) Number

H1095

Heritage Overlay Number

HO239

Level of Significance

Registered

Extent of Registration

AMENDMENT OF REGISTER OF HISTORIC BUILDINGS Historic Building No. 1095. Former Protestant Orphan Asylum & Common School, McCurdy Road, Geelong, City of Greater ... more

Statement of Significance

Following a local campaign to raise funds for the construction of an orphan asylum, the former Protestant Orphan Asylum was built in 1855 as a result of an architectural competition to the designs of Geelong architect Andrew McWilliams on land granted by the government. The north wing was added in 1857. In 1865 the Common School was constructed to a design by architect Joseph Lowe Shaw. Both buildings are constructed of basalt with freestone dressings in the picturesque ... more

Year Construction Started 1855
Architectural Style Victorian Period (1851-1901) Picturesque Gothic
Heritage Act Categories Heritage place
Municipality GREATER GEELONG CITY

Create Report:

Pdf_icon_big
PDF Report

(Build 107 (35372) / 25/04/15 - 102765 places Online ) Terms and Conditions Reset Search